Founders’ Memorial Scholars

Established in 2018 to mark our 60th anniversary as the nation’s first honors college, the Founders’ Memorial Scholars are a select group of undergraduate students chosen to work alongside the director of the College to enhance the research profile or work of the College towards its priorities, while furthering their skills and knowledge.

Recipients receive up to a two-year award that includes a scholarship and a specific research or programmatic assignment, and will participate in the wider Honors College Scholars & Fellows Program workshops and professional development opportunities.

The name evokes the memory and legacies of the numerous founders of the University of Missouri, from James S. Rollins and George Caleb Bingham, to those who established the numerous colleges and programs that are, today, the essential bodies of the University’s academic mission, including the Honors College.

Directors of the Honors College: Dr. Rod McGrew (1958-1964) | Dr. William “Mac” Jones (1964-1966) | Dr. Richard Renner (1966-69) | Dr. Bill Bondeson (1969-1972) | Dr. James Holleran (acting, 1972-1973) | Dr. Paul Nelson (1973-1975) | Dr. George Fasel (1975-1977; 1978-1979) | Dr. Ted Tarkow (acting, 1977-1978; 1979-1983) | Dr. Edwin Kaiser (1983-1991) | Dr. Stuart Palonsky (1991-2011) | Dr. Nancy West (interim, 2011-2015) | Dr. J.D. Bowers (2015-present).

The FMS program is further unique in that it will be funded, in part, by the annual and endowed giving of past and present directors of the College.

Application and Selection

FMS recipients can be either incoming first-year students or current MU students. The selection is based on the needs of the College and the programs that have been given priority in any given year.

All first-time college applicants for our Scholars & Fellows programs will be considered for the FMS program; no special application, check-box, or additional materials are required. The Scholars & Fellows application is due by December 1, 2019.  Please note that in order for your Scholars & Fellows application to be considered, you must have already been admitted into MU.

Current MU students can apply through the existing MUHC Scholarship application that is due by February 01.

Recipients will be notified by April 1.


Founders’ Memorial Scholars (Present & Past)

2020-2021  |  Cassie Anderson (’24)  |  Maggie Courtney (’24)  |  Laura Frymire (’23)  |  Elana Jolly (’24)  |  Anna Kochman (’23)  |  MJ Montgomery (’24)  |  Erika Sesler (’24)  |  Maren Stephens (’24)

2019-2020  |  Mary Grace Newman (’20)  |  Laura Frymire (’23)  |  Maggie Lyon (’21)  |  Miki Hodel (’21)  |  Savannah Modesitt (’20)  | Kira Lovell (’22)

2018-2019  |  Mary Grace Newman (’20)