Brazeal Scholars

The Brazeal Honors College Endowed Diversity Scholarship Fund was created in 2004 by Jim and Cathy Brazeal in order to attract and retain the best young scholars to the MU campus and Honors College. The Fund is a key element in allowing the College to address the issues of affordability, access, and diversity by helping us to enhance recruitment and retention of academically talented undergraduate students from ethnic groups that are typically under-represented in higher education, particularly African-American students.

Recipients of the Brazeal Scholarship receive:

  • At least $15,000 a year, renewable for a total of four years
  • Waiver of out-of-state tuition (if necessary)
  • An additional $6,000 to cover the costs associated with an MU Study Abroad Program
  • A $2,000 scholarship for freshman year participation in research or artistry program, with possible renewal for a second year

Recipients of the Brazeal Scholarship are eligible to receive National Merit, Bright Flight Scholarships. They may not combine it with certain general University Scholarships, including the Curators Scholars Award, Excellence Award, Chancellor’s Scholarship, George C. Brooks Scholarship, Diversity Award, Mizzou Scholars Award, Mark Twain Nonresident Scholarship, Mizzou Heritage Award, or the Dr. Donald Suggs Scholarship..

Eligible Brazeal applicants are selected from among the applicants for MU’s George C. Brooks Scholarships, among other pools of candidates. Interested applicants should contact Admissions and Financial Aid in order to apply. The Brooks scholarship is designed for high-ability students from ethnic, racial, or demographic groups that are underrepresented in Missouri higher education; selected recipients must have a minimum ACT composite score of 25 or an SAT score of 1200.

The application deadline coincides with the Brooks Scholars deadline and is usually December 1. No applications will be accepted directly by the Honors College.

In order to ensure consideration, interested applicants should apply for admission to MU, submit official transcripts and official test scores (directly from test score providers) no later than December 1.

Brazeal candidates are interviewed by a committee of Honors College faculty and students. Each interview is 30 minutes in length. Interviewers have access to the applicant’s standardized test scores, high school GPA, and an essay you may have already submitted for the Brooks Scholarship.

Students who meet the eligibility requirements and favorably impress the interviewers will be asked to submit additional information in support of the Brazeal Scholarship application.

Enrollment and successful progress toward completion in the Honors College is required throughout the duration of the scholarship. Students will be expected to maintain a minimum GPA to continue receiving the award.

For additional information about the Brazeal Scholarship and application procedures, please contact Dr. J.D. Bowers, Director of the Honors College, at

Current and Past Brazeal Scholars

The students who have been selected as Brazeal Scholars, over the years, have left an enduring legacy at Mizzou, both through their academic and co- and extra-curricular achievements.


Current Scholars

  • Jayden Francois (2024)
    Kansas City, MO

Story Forthcoming …

  • Rachel Henderson (2023)
    Roswell, GA

Rachel is one of a kind and yet one of two, in “It takes two”

  • Paige Williams (2023)
    Kansas City, MO

A dedication to others is what makes Paige such a great part of a team, in “It takes two”

  • Olivia Flagg-Bourke (2021)
    Kirkwood, MO

Olivia is Mizzou Made and was born and “raised a Tiger”.


Previous Scholars

  • Maya Hill (2020)
    Kansas City, MO

     “I just kind of knew in that moment that I was going to Mizzou,” Maya recalls.

  • Bailey McCann (2019)
    Houston, TX
  • Londell Fowlkes (2019)
    Bolingbrook, IL
  • Emma Worgul (2018)
    Overland Park, KS

      “Embracing new opportunities …”

  • Breanna Carter (2016)
    Seattle, WA
  • Hannah Mitchem (2015)
    St. Louis, MO
  • Brian Gaffigan (2014)
    Kansas City, MO
  • Asare Cobblah (2013)
    Sedalia, MO
  • Catherine Newhouse (2013)
    Wheaton, IL
  • Anoff Cobblah (2012)
    Sedalia, MO
  • Jennifer Wesley (2011)
    Creve Coeur, MO
  • Darryl Kemp (2009)
    Wellsville, MO