Honors Celebrations! Awards…Scholarships…Graduation 2021



Graduation 2021!

Graduates, you have achieved so much in your time here at Mizzou, and your Honors medallion and cord will serve as a symbol of your success!

On Sunday, May 9, at 5:45 in Mizzou Arena we will celebrate you, with you, in person.

For those who cannot join us, you can live-stream the event. 

Honors College, Sunday, May 9 (Mizzou Arena) 5:45 p.m.


Scholarships and Awards!

The Honors College wishes to celebrate and recognize the outstanding achievements of its students, especially those who have been selected to receive one of our scholarships and awards.

The awards—for select first-year, sophomore, and junior students, the Harry and Richard Hocks Scholarship, the Alton Jones Scholarship, the Hayden Scholarship, the Hudson Scholarship, the Rhodes Clay Scholarship, Outstanding Discovery Fellows, and our two Outstanding Seniors—are bestowed across all class years, in any discipline, and are supported by both endowed scholarship funds as well as annual giving to the College.

This year honors is awarding forty-eight recognitions and scholarships in twelve different programs.

All recipients will be recognized across the College’s social media pages (Facebook, Instagram, Twitter) during our week of Honors Celebrations, April 26-30, 2021.


Congratulations to the following:

First-Year Scholarship Award

Sarah Muller. Denver, CO. Mechanical Engineering

Eghosasere Ogbevoen. Lee’s Summit, MO. Health Science Leadership and Policy

Bradford Siwak. St. Louis, MO. Journalism and Sociology


Harry J. and Richard Hocks Scholarship Award

Abby Uphoff. Minooka, IL. English


Alton Jones Scholarship Award

Luke Lindberg. Springfield, IL. Math and Physics


Sophomore Scholarship Award

Kristina Essig. Plano, TX. Journalism

Hannah Nystrom. Charlotte, NC. Health Science

Elizabeth Schlaker. St. Louis, MO. Communication


Hayden Scholarship Award

Della Cox. University City, MO. Sociology and Statistics

Jillian Marino. Orland Park, IL. Secondary Education (Language Arts) and English


Hudson Scholarship Award

Haleigh McCamy. St. Joseph’s, MO. Secondary Social Studies Education

Sydney Poppe.  Lee’s Summit, MO. Journalism and Psychology


Rhodes Clay Scholarship Award

Molly Miller. Denver, CO. Journalism and International Studies

Emili Pezall. Springfield, IL. Economics


Humanities Certificate Award Recipients

Grace Albrecht, Noura Alhachami, Mia Berkstresser, Hunter Embrey, Brandon Ford, Emma Leary, Emily Maruszak, Sarah Overby, Reilly Parkhill, Della Rodenbaugh, William Skipworth, El Smith, Abby Uphoff, Jackson Witt, and Galen Zavala Sherby


Cherng Summer Scholars, Summer 2021

Quinn Cunningham, Kevin Hahn, August Hemmerla, Rachel Henderson, Kylee Isom, Cade McKnelly, Mac McMullan, Taylor Volkers, and Sofia Voss


Junior Scholarship Award

Elizabeth Frochtmann. St. Louis, MO. International Business, International Studies, and Spanish

Madison LaChance. Chesterfield, MO. Biological Sciences

Andrew Self. Lee’s Summit, MO. Biochemistry


Outstanding Discovery Fellows Award

Samantha Kollmeyer. Springfield, MO. Psychology

Katelynn Montgomery. Sedalia, MO. Nutrition and Exercise Physiology

Bethany Moore. Springfield, MO. International Studies and Peace Studies

Ryan Sellers. Chesterfield, MO. Computer Science

Peyton Sumpter. Kansas City, MO. Economics and Statistics


Outstanding Senior Award

Avery Esquivel. Lincoln, NE. Early Childhood Education

Olive Flagg-Bourke. Kirkwood, MO. English