Founders’ Memorial Scholars

Established in 2018 to mark our 60th anniversary as the nation’s first honors college, the Founders’ Memorial Scholars are a select group of undergraduate students chosen to work with the Honors College or honors faculty to enhance their research efforts. Students selected for this award will be assigned specific research or programmatic duties once they accept the award.

The name evokes the memory and legacies of the numerous founders of the University of Missouri, who established the numerous colleges and programs that are the essential bodies of the University’s academic mission, including the Honors College. This program is unique in that it will be funded in part by the annual and endowed giving of past and present directors of the College.

Award Amount and Expectations

Founders’ Scholars are awarded a scholarship of $2,000 for the year. This award is dispersed in two equal installments during the year and only if the student meets the program requirements. Selected students work on their assigned project approximately eight hours per week during the academic year. The number of scholars selected and the project assignments are based on the priority and needs of the College.

Eligibility Requirements

Entering freshmen with an ACT composite score of 32 or SAT score of 1420 are eligible for this program. No prior research work is required.

How to Apply

Incoming freshman who are eligible for this scholarship program can click here for instructions on how to apply. Please note, your MU and Honors College application must be submitted by December 1st, but you don’t have to be admitted by that date.

Under special circumstances, and if funding is available, current honors students might be included in special calls for applications or a nomination to become a Founders’ Memorial Scholar.

Current and Recent Founders’ Memorial Scholars

Cassie Anderson | Class of 2024 | St. Joseph, MO | Journalism and Political Science
Maggie Courtney | Class of 2024 | Springfield, MO | Journalism
Laura Frymire | Class of 2023 | Columbia, MO | History and Political Science
Elena Jolly | Class of 2024 | Louisville, KY | Political Science
Anna Kochman | Class of 2023 | Lee’s Summit, MO | Journalism
MJ Montgomery | Class of 2024 | Bolivar, MO | Journalism
Erika Sesler | Class of 2024 | Kansas City, MO | Accountancy
Hannah Wilson | Class of 2022 | Independence, MO | International Studies and Business

For More Information

If you have any questions regarding this program or application, please contact our Scholarship & Research Coordinator, Ava Drayton, or contact the Honors College at 573-882-3893.