MU Honors College Announces 2018 Cohort of Stamps Scholars

2018 stamps scholars

Jessica Blake, Alicja Blaszczyk, Ashwath Elangovan, Andrew Mitchell, Sophia Mulwa, Rebecca Price and Delanie Vinzant

On Wednesday, the University of Missouri’s Honors College announced the seven students who have received an invitation to join the prestigious Stamps Scholars Program on campus starting in the fall of 2018.

The students—along with their high school, hometown, and intended major—are:

  • Jessica Blake, Dublin Jerome HS; Dublin, Ohio; Journalism
  • Alicja Blaszczyk, Lafayette HS; Grover, Missouri; Mathematics
  • Ashwath Elangovan, Rock Bridge HS; Columbia, Missouri; Biological Sciences
  • Andrew Mitchell, Lee’s Summit Sr. HS; Lee’s Summit, Missouri; Chemistry
  • Sophia Mulwa, Nerinx Hall HS; St. Louis, Missouri; Health Professions
  • Rebecca Price, Lausanne Collegiate; Germantown, Tennessee; International Business
  • Delanie Vinzant, Maryville R-11 HS; Maryville, Missouri; Biological Sciences.

“Each of the students is very accomplished–in their academic, extra-curricular and personal activities,” says J.D. Bowers, Director of the Honors College. “They are also outstanding young scholars, and we are thrilled to welcome them to campus as a cohort and as individuals.”

The Stamps Scholar program, sponsored by the Stamps Family Charitable Foundation, is a merit scholarship program active at 40 universities nation-wide. It seeks to elevate the level of achievement among highly talented undergraduates through leadership, service and academics.

A Stamps Scholar receives a full scholarship–all tuition, fees, room and board–as well as access to an educational enrichment fund that allows them to design and develop their own projects that support their academic success. The students are also assigned a research mentor starting in their first semester and spend two years working on a project with that mentor.

The entire cohort will live in the Honors College residence hall, Mark Twain Hall, and participate in the Andrew and Peggy Cherng Leadership FIG.